Cannes Haul

April 15, 2009 at 9:37 pm | Posted in Beauty | 7 Comments
Tags: , , ,

So I was in Cannes not so recently.. before JB at least, but I think we’ve established that I don’t post in chronological order. So I hereby present my Cannes haul…

If there’s one thing the South of France is good for, its cheap skincare. Brands like Vichy, Avene, Biotherm are drugstore brands there and can be as much as over 50% cheaper than here. Which is as good a reason as any to haul. Majority of my haul was Vichy, of which I particularly love the Normaderm range for anti-imperfection, which I first picked up on my last trip to Cannes about 6 months ago.

The packaging’s mostly in French, so I won’t bother typing out what I got, since it doesn’t really make sense to me. Basically I got 2 of the Normaderm Night Moisturizer for 13.90Euro/S$28 each, 2 Normaderm Pro Mat for 13.90Euro/S$28 each, Dermablend Corrective Foundation, Normateint Foundation, Aera Teint Matte Fluid Foundation and the Oligo 25 Anti-Fatigue Cooling Effect Stick. Also got myself the Biotherm Biopur Pore Reducer Moisturizer to try. I don’t recall the prices for the last few, but I spent a total of about 135Euro/S$270 in the pharmacy. The lady even threw in for free the Normaderm Cleansing Gel!

Other than skincare, I also picked up a couple of these babies. They were highly raved about by the Muse and cost only about 2.90Euro/S$6. Can’t wait to try them out!

But my star purchases came right on the last day of my trip, when I went to pick up some macarons for dessert. I walked by the cosmetics section at Monoprix (local departmental store) and was immediately drawn to the display of beautiful blushers. Don’t they resemble the MAC Msfs? I had never heard of the brand Biguine before, but I simply couldn’t resist picking up something after playing around with the testers. These were pigmented and not too glittery, which makes them great dupes for MAC. They were cheaper too! The smaller one (8g of product) is the Legende Blush in Sissi, and the bigger one (9g of product) is the Complexion Powder in Poudre D’Eve. They were 11.90Euro/S$24 and 14.90Euro/S$30 respectively, which is quite reasonable if you ask me.

I simply fell in love with Sissi, which is a lovely peachy pink with gold veins. Eve is a gorgeous plummy, pink and bronze melange that applies beautifully. Now I regret not sweeping the entire collection off the counter as I don’t think Biguine is easily available outside of Europe or even France. Anyone else heard of the brand or know where else it is available please let me know!

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. so many foundations!!! you should take a close up pic of the foundation individually! you know i’m always interested in base makeup! haha
    the labello looks like our local nivea (though i’ve not tried them before).
    the msf dupes are sooooooo sooooooooo pretty!!!!!! ME LIKEY!!!!!

    • pretty hor.. I love love the Sissi blush.. damn chio! now I regret not buying up the entire collection.. haha

      • told you liao, next time just BUY BUY BUY!
        BUY NOW REGRET LATER remember? :P

      • no choice lah.. one day when I win toto then I adopt tt motto.. hahaha

  2. i like those MSF dupes so much that i actually did a search on Biguine Makeup.
    Look what i found:

    dont they look just like MAC Mineralized Eyeshadows?
    awww.. super pretty!

    • yup I saw those at the counter at Monoprix as well. But I’m more a blush lover so I decided to get the blushes instead. But I was severely tempted by the e/s too.. =)

      • ooohh.. how i wish they’re available here!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

