Etude House Precious Mineral Makeup Essence

June 13, 2009 at 1:04 am | Posted in Beauty | 4 Comments
Tags: ,

I reviewed the BB Creams in Etude House’s Precious Minerals collection here, and here’s my review of the Makeup Essence from the same collection.

If you think this baby looks familiar, then you’ve probably thinking of the Guerlain Meteorites Light Diffusing Perfecting Primer. They both work on the same theory of little balls and gel blending into one great primer. I have yet to be able to afford the Guerlain version, so obviously i’m in no position to make any comparisons. i’m just going to give my 2-cents worth on this particular release from Etude House and stick with that.

Normally I would associate Essence with skincare, ie Serums, but this particular product is in fact a primer/base of sorts. On my first try with the product, it took a few pumps of clear gel before I got any of the light beige-ish stuff that I presume is from mixing the tiny little balls with the clear gel.

A little goes a long way, as that amount on my hand was enough to cover the entire back of my hand and then some. As you can see, this product is about shimmer and glow. The shimmers are subtle and won’t make your face look like it belongs in the 70s, unless you overload your face with it. It does produce a very nice glow that is decent even with BB cream or liquid foundation layered over it. However, it didn’t really agree with my skin as it just sort of sat on my skin instead of being absorbed. It felt like there was a layer of this essence sitting on top of my skin, which made blending in my BB or LF tougher as they went on patchy and uneven. I should qualify that this might be due to my ineptitude at application, but it didn’t work for me on the several occasions I tried it out.

Pros
Glow: Its a nice subtle glow that shows up well even with a layer of BB/LF over it

Packaging: It’s fun! I’m obsessed with cute stuff and this one fits the profile

Pump dispenser: As with the BBs, I prefer pump dispensers for their hygiene factor, and there is less product wastage this way.

Cons
Oil Control: Fair. It didn’t do much for me in terms of oil control and I had to blot more often then when I have a good base/primer on.

Absorption: As I mentioned above, this was the main issue I faced with this product. It simply didn’t work well on my skin and made applying BB/LF harder, instead of easier.

Conclusion
This product is fun to play with, but didn’t work for me. A pity though cuz I was quite fond of the glow it gave me.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. ok, i am not getting it….

  2. So it acts like a face brightening? Sounds like the Benefit That Gal Primer.

    • It does give me a nice decent glow, but there’re better primer/highlighters out there that can do the same if not better.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

