Maybelline Natural Smokes

August 10, 2010 at 10:53 pm | Posted in Beauty | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I’m a big fan of drugstore makeup, so whenever I travel, I make sure to check out local drugstores and see what they have to offer. Maybelline is a pretty trusty drugstore brand that puts out some gems for a great value price. I picked up this Stylish Smokes Quad in 02 Natural Smokes early this year from the States and I’m happy to report it’s a very handy, idiot-proof eyeshadow quad to have around. It’s affordabilty (less than US$6) is a huge plus too, as I’m not afraid to tote it around for fear that it might break of get smashed, since it’s relatively cheaper to replace than say a Guerlain quad… lol..

I find it really amusing that they literally carved out where each shadow goes.. That’s taking idiot-proof to a whole new level!

I’ve been using the Brow Bone shade so often that you can’t really see the carving anymore.. This palette is great for a daytime smokey eye, which I can safely wear to the office without looking like I’m preparing for a night out clubbing. It’s also a neutral quad which makes it doubly safe for days when I don’t feel like matching my eyeshadow and outfit.

Pigmentation is quite impressive too, for a drugstore quad that cost me less than US$6. The colours do tend to fade a bit by the end of the day, but using a primer does help solve that problem. For it’s price, this is a really great value product! I’m glad I picked it up in the States as we don’t get this range here in Singapore. Do check it out if you’re looking for a value-for-money drugstore palette!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

