Tony Moly Tomatox Brightening Mask

May 19, 2011 at 9:02 pm | Posted in Beauty | 6 Comments
Tags:

Since we’ve been on the topic of Korean products lately, I figured it’d be a good time to review Tony Moly’s Tomatox Brightening Mask which I’ve been trying out. I actually got this during an amazing promotion whereby a copy of Simply Her Magazine which retails for S$4.20 (I think..) came with a free full-size Tomatox Brightening Mask!! Now that’s what I call a good deal.

I don’t recall how much this retails for in Singapore, but definitely way more than S$4.20. lol.. When I received this from Tony Moly, there were no instructions, ingredients at all and it was just one lonesome tomato. Luckily the “3min wash-off Brightening Mask” sticker was quite self-explanatory.

As the name suggests, this wash-off mask is meant to brighten up your complexion. I was curious as to how it would fare, as I was quite skeptical of the results after just 3 mins of use.

The mask itself is quite a thick creamy consistency, with tiny red beads. I usually scoop it up with a clean spatula as I’m a bit of a hygiene freak when it comes to products in a pot. After leaving it on my face for a couple of minutes, I usually loose count so I’m hardly sticking to a 3 min rule, it’s time to wash it off and see the verdict.

I was pretty impressed with the brightening effect, as I did indeed notice that my skin was brighter and more luminous immediately after washing off. This effect however is unfortunately temporary, and it lasted probably no more than a day. I haven’t used it religiously or routinely enough to see any long term effects, but as a quick fix, this performs very well. Since I got it at a highly reduced price, I’m gonna say this is extremely value-for-money. However, I’d even go a step further to say it’s probably worth it’s retail price too, as long as you’re not expecting the effects to be very long-lasting =)

Share

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I got this straightaway after I saw your tweet~~ The SRP is $26.90 and yes it’s good deal! :p Worst still I saw the lady in front of me grabbing 5 copies of the mag..And I think i gonna use mine. It’s still nicely kept in the Tony Moly paper bag..haha

    • Wow the retail price is about 6x the magazine price!! Glad you managed to get it for yourself =)

  2. *Happy Dance* I bought and reviewed it months back, loved it so much that i grabbed me a copy of the Simply Her to get my hands on another Tomatox :)

    • I saw your review! It was such a good bargain that I bought 2 copies of the magazines for myself =P

  3. I got this in HK last May, and I agree with you. Any ‘ brightening’ / ‘ whitening’ effect is temporary, and it is not that gentle on sensitive skin (at least for me) cos I felt stingly :/

    I used it less than 5x ever since :(

    • Temporary is better than nothing.. lol.. Who know.. if you use it long term, it might have long term effects!!
      but I agree, it’s mildly tingly..


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

