Blush Crush – Chanel Rouge

June 22, 2011 at 11:39 pm | Posted in Beauty | 4 Comments
Tags:

Those of you who follow me on Twitter will probably know that I had a pretty bad couple of weeks recently at work. And of course what better cure is there then some retail therapy? If money can buy happiness, I say “Go for it!!” =P

While out shopping with Jolyn, we came upon the Chanel counter at Isetan Scotts, and they had the Byzantine Collection which launched just earlier this month. I naturally gravitated towards the new blush releases =)

After thinking about it for a couple of days, this baby eventually followed me home.

I’m a recent convert to Chanel’s Joues Contraste powder blushes and they’re the only Chanel indulgence that I’ll allow myself (for now..)

The classic Chanel black and white packaging never fails in its simplicity.

Unlike my previous Chanel blush purchases which were either pink or peach, Rouge is very decidedly red-toned.

It looks scary-red in the pan, but after the SA tested this out on Jolyn, I was pretty much convinced I had to have it. Plus I don’t own anything similar, and for a blush fiend like me, that means this shade is really unique!

Swatched in natural light. Rouge is an ultra-pigmented blush, and definitely the most pigmented Chanel JC blush I own.

Swatch in flash. Rouge is a blush that requires a light touch, to avoid the feared clown-cheeks. A stippling brush works wonderfully to deposit just enough pigment without going overboard.

The quality and shades for Chanel JC blushes have yet to fail me, and Rouge is a very wearable red blush. It’s not a colour you see very often when blushes usually come in variations of pink and peach nowadays. This one’s definitely a keeper =)

Share

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. wow, this shade reminds me of vintage portraits where blushers were really red! what an appropriate name, it is ROUGE indeed! FOTD? ;)

    • It does have a very vintage feel doesn’t it? Gives me a bit of a 60s vibe =P
      I never have good enough lighting for EOTD/FOTDs sadly..

  2. […] reviewed Fleur de Lotus, Rose Tourbillon, Rouge, Candy, Tea Rose and In Love and now for […]

  3. […] something for everyone. I’ve reviewed Espiegle, Fleur de Lotus, Rose Tourbillon, Rouge, Candy, Tea Rose and In Love and I now it’s time to feature […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

