Hada Labo BB Moist Cream

August 22, 2011 at 9:28 pm | Posted in Beauty | 5 Comments
Tags:

Sorry for the lack of posts last week, this pesky cough is driving me nuts.. But I’m trying to get back into blogging as I have so much to write about! Let’s get on with it!

I picked up Hada Labo’s BB Moist Cream during my transit at Narita Airport in Tokyo on my way to New York. Being a huge fan of Hada Labo’s skincare, I’d been lemming to try their BB cream once I heard of it. But it hasn’t been launched in Singapore yet, so I was really happy to spot it in the little drugstore in Narita.

I was initially debating between getting the Natural Beige and Natural Ochre shade, but after a short consultation with the SA, in very broken Japanese, she advised me to get Natural Beige as Natural Ochre might be a little too dark for me. Besides the BB Moist Cream, Hada Labo also released the BB Moist Emulsion which comes in a bottle, but they didn’t have Natural Beige in stock for that so I picked up the BB Moist Cream, which cost ¥1,400 ~USD19.

The packaging is pretty simple, a normal squeeze tube common to many BB creams.

Since I bought it in Japan, naturally all the descriptions are all in Japanese. Anyone care to translate? =P

The opening of the squeeze tube is small enough to adequately control the amount of BB cream dispensed, to minimise wastage. As much as I prefer the more hygienic pump dispenser packaging, the pumps are usually hit-or-miss.

When I first swatched it, I was still wondering if I should have chosen Natural Ochre instead, because swatched on my hand, the shade looks a tad light.

It does look rather pale for my skin doesn’t it?

But once blended out, it adapts very nicely to my skintone, and obviously my face is slightly fairer than my hand too.

I didn’t bring much makeup with me to the US, subscribing to the theory of “Go there and buy”. I started using the once I reached New York, and continued to use it throughout most of my trip except when I hit Las Vegas, where the 48ºC temperature and scorching sun had me reaching for my Sulwhasoo BB Base which has SPF 50.

The texture of this is creamy, but not too thick, remaining slightly liquid which makes application and blending a breeze. Being a BB Moist  Cream, and coming from Hada Labo which is famous for it’s hydrating lotion, I expected this to be quite moisturising, which turned out to be true. It kept my face well moisturised in the drier climate in the US.

The lasting power was also quite impressive as it lasted on my face well throughout the day and into the evenings without any touch-ups. This is particularly impressive to me as I was basically running around under the hot summer sun and though it wasn’t as humid, I did sweat quite a bit. But my base makeup still looked respectably fresh when my day ended and I looked in the mirror right before removing my makeup.

Coverage is medium as it manages to even out my skintone and cover slight discolourations, but acne scars and spots will still require some concealing. The finish is quite natural and slightly dewy possibly due to the moisturising characteristics, but after setting it with my pressed powder, it was good to go for a full day out.

All in all, a very solid base makeup item that I’d recommend, and though I haven’t used it very much since coming back to Singapore to test out the oil control factor back in the humid tropics, the few times I did, it performed above average. It took about 5-6 hours for shine to peek through, which is quite a good amount of time for me.

I managed to pick up the BB Moist Emulsion on my return transit, which was a miracle in itself since I had a 15 minute window to make my flight.. But that’s another review for another time =)

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] a fan of Hada Labo skincare, and did quite like the Hada Labo BB Moist Cream which I bought at Narita Airport en route to the US last year. I managed to pick up the BB Moist […]

  2. Hi, thanks for this awesome review! I really want to try this product, but I have no idea what shade to get. I live in the US, so it’s not possible for me to try it in stores. I was wondering if you had any helpful advice? My skintone is somewhere between light-medium to medium. Do you think I should go with Natural Beige or Natural Ochre? Thanks in advance!

    • Hi Ayu! I’m a NC30, and Natural Beige is just a little bit fairer for me, it’s probably a best match for NC25. Natural Ochre is probably a closer match for NC30-35, but I like a more brightening effect, and it’s always easier to “darken” with a darker powder than to try and “lighten” a darker foundation. Hope this helps =)

      • Hi, thanks for the quick response! I guess I’ll go with the Natural Beige then. *fingers crossed* >.<

      • Hope it works out for you! =)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

