L’Oreal Color Infallibles

November 28, 2011 at 11:29 pm | Posted in Beauty | 12 Comments
Tags:

As you might already know, I’m a big fan of Giorgio Armani’s Eyes to Kill Intense Eyeshadows. When I first read that L’Oreal was releasing something similar, I was very skeptical. But after reading about the L’Oreal Infallibles on CoffretGorge, I knew I had to hunt them down.

Let’s just say it was a very fruitful hunting season =P

These shades are not available in Singapore, and I hunted them down when I was in Hong Kong. Strangely enough, the Infallibles are not available in Taiwan at all!

(Top row from left: 001 Time Resist White, 004 Forever Pink, 005 Purple Obssession, 006 All Night Blue & 007 Unlimited Sky)

(Bottom row from left: 009 Permanent Khaki, 012 Endless Chocolat, 013 Burning Black, 014 Eternal Black & 015 Flashback Silver)

There were 10 shades available in the Colormix stores I popped into in Hong Kong, so I naturally swiped all ten. These were 89HKD ~ $14.80. Which is about the same price as the Infallible shades available in Singapore.

The packaging is quite nifty as you can tell the shade in the pot from both the top and bottom. Under the screw-top, there is a little black lid similar to that in the Etks, which helps prevent the very soft and creamy shadows from crumbling or drying out.

001 Time Resist White – I love this as a highlight shade and on the inner corners of my eyes to brighten and widen the whole look.

004 Forever Pink – I admit I got this to round out the collection. I’m not a fan of pink eyeshadows, so I’ll have to see how to make this work.

005 Purple Obsession – This smokey purple is great as a crease shade as it instantly adds depth and definition, plus a little smokey mystery =P

006 All Night Blue – My weakness for dark jewel-toned blues is well documented, so naturally this was one of my faves. I love this bold midnight blue!

007 Unlimited Sky – This frosty sky blue has tinges of grey in there, which makes it much more interesting as it tends to look different under certain light.

009 Permanent Khaki – This golden ashy green is a lovely warm shade that works well with my army of neutral eyeshadows.

012 Endless Chocolat – Seriously, who wouldn’t want endless chocolate?! This deep chocolate brown fits right in with my army of neutral eyeshadows and works amazingly as a crease shade.

013 Burning Black – This is the only shade which I think is anywhere close to GA’s EtKs in terms of shade complexity. This vampy burgundy black is not for the faint hearted.

014 Eternal Black – This is the most obviously shimmery one, with tonnes of silver shimmer mixed into a black base. It’s definitely one best saved for night time looks.

015 Flashback Silver – This is a silver that flashes purple and grey under certain lights, much like 007 Unlimited Sky. The effect is similarly interesting and adds depth to the shade.

(From left: 001 Time Resist White, 004 Forever Pink, 005 Purple Obssession, 006 All Night Blue , 007 Unlimited Sky, 009 Permanent Khaki, 012 Endless Chocolat, 013 Burning Black, 014 Eternal Black & 015 Flashback Silver)

Swatched in natural light.

Swatched in flash light.

While all shades have various degree of shimmer, 014 Eternal Black was the most obvious one with loads of silver glitter.

I ran my arm under the tap and tried rubbing the swatches off, but even though some shades did fade, this require quite a big of rubbing.

I brought out the big guns (Biore Hydra Clear Makeup Remover) and they faded off easily with minimal rubbing required.

 

Overall, these aren’t dupes of GA’s EtKs, but they’re very affordable drugstore versions. The texture and formula is quite similar, a hybrid cream-powder that is buttery smooth and very long-lasting. I got a good 12hours+ of wear with 009 Permanent Khaki alone without primer over the weekend, which left me very impressed. If you can get them, I’d say these are excellent for their price and the variety of shades will provide something for everyone.

Now I just need 2 more of the limited edition Holiday collection ones which are available here in Singapore to round out my Infallibles collection =)

12 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Gee! i feel honored to be mentioned as your enabler hahaha! Im waiting for some infallibles from Lynn, I can’t wait to see them! <3

    • hehehe.. I first heard about them being available from you!! I’ve got the urge to collect them all.. lol..

  2. So lucky you got to get them! It’s not even available in the US… lol~

    • That’s strange! Usually we’re behind you guys!

  3. I’m definitely going to hunt for these Luna thanks for the swatches. By the way would you pretty please swatch your Suqqu palette, I would love to see it.

    • Sure, I’ll swatch my Suqqu when I have better light.. it’s been a terribly grey and dreary couple of weeks.. terrible lighting for swatching =(

  4. GAH!! The shades you picked up are totally awesome!! Great, now i need to get people to hunt them down for me.

    • hahaha they’re well worth the effort!! I heard they’re available at Changi T3.. I got mine in HK but strangely they’re not in TW at all..

  5. […] Infallibles have been making waves in the beauty community since their launch, and I previously showcased those I purchased in Hong Kong during my trip in November. However, the L’Or collection was actually launched in Singapore […]

  6. […] did the look with two of my L’Oreal Color Infallibles and one from the L’Or Collection, over my HG Art Deco Eyeshadow […]

  7. […] reviewed the L’Oreal Color Infallibles released in Hong Kong and the L’or collection released here in Singapore, so when I had the chance to get a few of […]

  8. […] really liked the L’Oreal Color Infallibles I got from Hong Kong, the L’Or collection, and the US versions so when I heard there was a Cannes Collection […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

