Revlon Colorburst Lip Butters

February 6, 2012 at 9:39 pm | Posted in Beauty | 16 Comments
Tags:

Thanks everyone who dropped by during the last 2 weeks where it was mostly scheduled posts as I was away on a business trip to the US. Now that I’m back, let’s get on with some US haul reviews =)

The local beauty community is all abuzz about the newly launched Revlon Colorburst Lip Butters, and it’s timely as I got myself some when I was in New York. I hadn’t even thought of hauling them until dear Beautyhoard requested for them, which got me all geared up to hunt them down. Strangely enough, the Revlon Lip Butters weren’t very easily available in New York City. I stayed in the Times Square area, and most of the drugstores within walking distance didn’t stock them at all! I finally tracked them down at the Duane Reade opposite Port Authority Bus Terminal. Phew..

Having gone to all that effort searching for them, I naturally had to make it worth my time and haul myself silly.. Adding in Beautyhoard’s haul, I think I successfully gave the Duane Reade cashier a heart attack with a basket full of Lip Butters.. lol..

Isn’t that a gorgeous sight? I picked up mostly the sheer, nude and lighter shades as I hardly wear bold lip colours.

From left: 001 Pink Truffle, 005 Sugar Frosting and 025 Peach Parfait

From left: 045 Cotton Candy, 050 Berry Smoothie and 055 Cupcake

From left: 060 Gumdrop, 065 Creamsicle and 080 Strawberry Shortcake

From left: 090 Sweet Tart and 095 Creme Brulee

Swatched in natural light in ascending numerical order.

Swatched in flash light in ascending numerical order.

Like I mentioned, I went for colours I’d wear often so a lot of the sheerer shades and nude shades. 090 Sweet Tart is easily the most pigmented and brightest shade of the lot.

Even though the Lip Butters have been launched in Singapore, only 8 out of the 20 shades are available. I’m not 100% certain, but I think out of the 11 shades I got, only 2 are currently available here – 025 Peach Parfait and 080 Strawberry Shortcake.

You’ll notice from the swatches that some shades apply very sheer, more like a tinted lipbalm, but some are noticeably more pigmented. As I’m more of a lipbalm than lipstick girl, I’m really happy with the shades I picked out. But for those of you who prefer more of a lipstick pigmentation, do google for swatches before your purchase, as some shades don’t really apply as they look like in the tube.

The Lip Butters are aptly named as they do feel buttery smooth when applied, though a few like Peach Parfait have some shimmer particles which aren’t gritty, but still noticeable. To me, these feel like a smoother, more buttery/balmy version of Guerlain’s KissKiss Baby. But the level of pigmentation is less consistent and they are less long-lasting. On an average, the Lip Butters last about 2-3 hours on me, less if I drink/eat.

I’m glad I picked them up, and happy to see that they’ve been launched in Singapore too. It’d be awesome if we had the full range, but 8 shades is a great start. They’re S$15.90 here, RM25 in Malaysia (which is significantly cheaper due to the exchange rate) and I got mine in NYC for US$8.99+tax, which isn’t the cheapest, but I didn’t have time to hunt further.

I’d definitely recommend these Lip Butters and with the array of shades, I’m sure everyone can find a shade or two (or 10) that would suit you =)

16 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i really need to try them! after so many reviews all over the blogs!
    unfortunately we don’t have revlon in Moscow, i will check if these butters are launched in Europe… otherwise, ebay will help me as always :))
    can’t wait to see all the things you brought from your trip!

    • These are pretty awesome and affordable! Definitely worth the effort to track down =)

  2. Oh my oh my what a huge haul, I am drooling already. I can’t wait to get my hands on them.

    • You enabled me! I hadn’t even planned to get them until I saw your list and decided to do a bit of research.. lol..
      You’ll get yours on Sat! You’ve got some lovely shades!

  3. Those are gorgeous! Great haul. :)

  4. Wow you have so many!! I want to collect them all haha!
    I love the ones I have atm. You should get Sugar Plum if you can, it’s my current fav :D

    • I went a little crazy when I finally found them.. haha
      Sugar Plum is available here! I shall go take a look =)

  5. I still haven’t caved in and purchased these yet because I know that a few of them have shimmer and I’ve heard so many mixed reviews. These shades you purchased are gorgeous!

    • The shimmer ones aren’t my favorite, they’re not the smoothest of the lot. I really love the sheerer shades, works great as a tinted lipbalm!!

  6. I love all the colors you got!!! Most of them not available here… :(( I like the Pink Truffle and must more sheerer colors. It glides on smoothy… :)

    • Yah! Pity our selection is quite limited. But better than nothing!

  7. i got peach parfait and strawberry shortcake! i wanted cherry tart also but maybe next round haha~ msia only got 8 shades… so sad lah

    • Peach Parfait got shimmer leh.. I prefer the cream shades.. smoother

      • yah but then still acceptable, not say very gritty lah :P most important it looks pretty! haha

      • yah lah still ok.. but still prefer smoother mah.. ahahah


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

