Travel Skincare/Makeup

April 23, 2012 at 9:47 pm | Posted in Beauty | 9 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m back from Korea! *Waves*

I spent an awesome week in Korea, mainly in Seoul and Jeju – sightseeing, eating, mountain climbing and of course shopping. =P As with all holidays, this one passed much too quickly and now I’m back home suffering from withdrawal syndrome. More about my Korea hauls to come, once I’ve had the chance to unpack and sort my purchases from CPs..

Today’s post was requested by dear Maria – she wanted to see what’s in my travel makeup/skincare pouches as I’ve had an insane couple of months of flying in and out for both work and leisure. Four trips in fours months is a bit of a record, even for me.

I tend to travel quite light, as my motto is “Don’t bring anything, go there and buy”. Well obviously I can’t not bring anything, but the general sentiments is to bring less, thus allowing more room for hauling. lol..

This is my trusty Rebecca Taylor makeup pouch which I got as a GWP from a Japanese magazine a long time ago. I love the blue polka dots!

It has 2 main compartments, the one of the left comes with brush slots and a clear separator. I keep my brush guards, brushes, perfume samples and random accessories in the left and my makeup in the right compartment.

I’m very minimal when it comes to makeup whilst travelling, so I don’t need many brushes either. I use Elf’s Complexion Brush to apply pressed powder or setting powder, Etude House’s Duo Fibre Brush for liquid foundation/BB, Ecotools’ Blush Brush for powder/liquid/cream blush, Elf’s Eyeshadow Brush and Coastal Sands’ Concealor Brush.

These was what I had in my makeup pouch during my Cannes trip, and generally the type of items remain the same, but I might rotate shades depending on the type of trip and personal preference.

1. Ipsa foundation – I’ve been using this for quite some time but it’s quite an old range which I got in a sale.

2. Cle de peau’s Fresh Base – Something I got during one of Shiseido’s warehouse sales, and it’s a handy size that goes on trips with me very often.

3. Becca’s Beach Tint in Grapefruit – I’ve been enjoying it for it’s handy size and long-lasting effect.

4. Sonia Kashuk Concealor palette – It’s a great multi-tasker to have!

5. Covergirl Lash Blast Fusion Mascara – Mascara of the moment.

6. – Paul & Joe Pressed Powder Vanille – One of my favorite pressed powders.

7. Revlon Lip Butter 045 Cotton Candy – Sheer, with just a touch of pink, great as a tinted lip balm and keeps my lips moisturised.

Now for the skincare portion. I’ve been using my Jill Stuart pouch which came with one of the mooks released in previous years. It’s roomy and looks pretty too!

I bring sample size products with me when travelling. Full-size products are usually too heavy/bulky to travel with, and some come in fragile glass bottles. I’d much rather not have to worry about broken/leaky skincare. I always bring an assortment of sample size products with me in case I run out of something during the trip.

1. Fresh Soy Face Serum – This came in a Fresh set I bought in the US, I like to have something hydrating with me when travelling, every other country is bound to be drier than Singapore.

2. Bunch of sample size emulsion/moisturisers from The Saem, The Face Shop and It’s Skin – I got a tonne of these samples during my previous Korea trip, and I’m still plowing through them. They’re great for travelling!

3. Laneige Power Essential Skin Refiner – Sample size toner also from my Korea trip, it’s a decent toner that absorbs much better in drier climates.

4. Sofina Jenne Jelly Moisturiser – I got this sample from Taiwan, and it’s a thicker jelly-like moisturiser which I use at night in drier climates.

5. Hada Labo Lotion – I love how hydrating this is! I got this mini-size one in Bangkok, and I finally finished it during my Cannes trip.

6. SKINC Daily Dose Serum – This was given to me during a blogger session, and it was specifically concocted for my skin’s needs. I was down to my last couple of drops and managed to finish it during my Korea trip. It worked fine for me, but it wasn’t spectacular enough that I would repurchase it at it’s hefty S$128 price tag.

7. Fancl Mild Cleansing Oil – This sample size cleansing oil is really handy and a little goes a long way. The cleansing power is really impressive too!

8. Laneige Water Sleeping Pack Ex – I need all the hydration I can get when I’m in drier climates, and Laneige’s Water Sleeping Pack Ex is my go-to sleeping pack. I just slap it on at night and it prevents my skin from drying out overnight.

9. Vitacreme B12 – I love using this overseas as it’s a rich cream that provides the hydration my skin needs and comes with it’s good with scars too! I finished this tube during my Cannes trip, so I’ll need to find a replacement asap.

10. Clinique All About Eyes – I got this sample in a set from the US, and it works pretty well to keep my eye area hydrated.

11. Yet another random The Saem Emulsion sample – This one is from their Oriental series, using Chinese herbal ingredients I believe.

12. The unlabeled spray bottle is my decanted Aqualabel Effector. This is the one product I’ve purchased and repurchased time and again. I love how it helps my skincare absorb much faster, leaving no sticky trace, even in this humid weather. The one I have here is the red moist bottle version for dry skin, perfect for travelling to drier climates. I have a separate blue whitening bottle version which I use when I’m at home.

So this concludes my show & tell for my travel makeup/skincare, hope you enjoyed the peek into my pouches =)

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Luna you are back! You are very restrained when you travel (pats on the back!) I love my samples too, I always hoard them and then take them out when I travel.

    • Yup, got back yesterday morning =)
      I tend to neglect makeup when I travel, au naturel!! I just got another ton of samples from Korea so I’m set for a long time.. lol..

  2. wow!!! thank you a lot for this post!
    is it HUGELY interesting for me! i see so many things which i wanted to try!!! now i know that i can ask your advice about them!
    first of all – sofina and b12 :)

    and, you are great about packing! i also try to take samples with me…. but it’s difficult sometimes :)

    • Glad you enjoyed the post!! Sofina Jenne is the drugstore range for Sofina, target at ladies in their 20s. Vitacreme B12 is a great regenerative cream that’s rich and moisturising. Prolonged use does help to fade some of my scars =)

      • i thought Janne is quite light, am i wrong?
        and would you recommend B12 for oily-combo skin?

      • There are two versions, the lighter one and the moisturising one, but in general it’s not too rich.
        I’ve got oily/combo skin and I can use Vitacreme B12 so I think it can definitely work. If it’s too rich for day use, it should still be ok for night use =)

      • hmmmm… i like so much the package of Janne than even if you told me – no, it’s awfull – i wouldn’t change my mind :))) will put it into my list on …..autumn i guess :)

      • hahaha thankfully it’s not awful! It’s quite good in fact! The lighter version works very well in my tropical weather. The moisturising version should be good for you =)

  3. […] exactly inexpensive. The kit came with a 15ml bottle of the Soy Face Serum which I’ve been using on my recent travels as it’s such a handy […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

