Hada Labo BB Moist Emulsion

June 4, 2012 at 8:48 pm | Posted in Beauty | 2 Comments
Tags:

I’m a fan of Hada Labo skincare, and did quite like the Hada Labo BB Moist Cream which I bought at Narita Airport en route to the US last year. I managed to pick up the BB Moist Emulsion on the way back from the US to round out the pair, and even till now, these have yet to launch in Singapore!

This cost 1,400Yen ~ US$19 at that time. I picked up the lighter shade – Natural Beige as recommended by the SA to me. I usually go for darker shades as my experience with BB creams are that the lighter shades are usually too light for my NC30 skintone. But these apparently oxidise slightly, so I thought I might get away with Natural Beige instead of Natural Ochre.

Instead of a squeeze tube packaging like the BB Moist Cream, the BB Moist Emulsion comes in a sunscreen-type bottle with beads within to help the contents mix together when you shake it.

The usual needle-nose dispenser like many Japanese brand sunscreens.

The BB Moist Emulsion is a much more fluid texture than the BB Moist Cream and it really does resemble a tinted sunscreen.

It’s a shade lighter than my skintone, but as I’d heard, it does indeed oxidise a bit, which ends up being a pretty good match for me.

I thought that I’d like this Emulsion version more than the Cream version, this was supposed to be made for oily-skin like me. I was sadly disappointed.

I had a hard time getting an even application out of this, I tried using my fingers, using a stippling brush, using a foundation brush and even a makeup sponge. None of the methods yielded a satisfactory finish. It was either streaky, patchy, uneven, a combination of the above, or worse.. all of the above. I tried it under different bases hoping it would work on any one. It didn’t.

It even did the unthinkable and emphasized my dry patches (cheeks) and settled into my pores (nose). This of course was the final straw for me. It was time to stop beating the dead horse and just move on.

Hada Labo’s winning streak for me had finally ended. This one is going to end up on my blogsale soon.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. i have it :) in ochre
    in fact i have no problems with using it, the only problem is the color – i can use it only in summer when I’m a bit tanned. i noticed that the application is at its best when you use a minimum of moisturizing stuff – just an emulsion or toner

    • This product just frustrates me.. I want to like it, but I’m not going to change my entire routine just to find a way to accommodate it.. =(


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

