Dr. Brandt Pores No More Pore Refiner

March 26, 2013 at 10:59 pm | Posted in Beauty | 2 Comments
Tags:

Having oily/combi skin and living in tropical Singapore means I’m on a perpetual quest to find products that keep the shine away for longer periods of time.

I came across Dr. Brandt’s Pores No More Pore Refiner and having read a few good reviews, decided to give it a try.

It does sound promising doesn’t it? I’m easily taken in by words like “mattifying” and “absorbs oil”.

I believe this is available in local Sephoras, but I got mine online.

The pump dispenser started out giving me problems by dispensing product in spurts and squirts that was difficult to control. But after a few uses, it settled down and dispenses product calmly now.

The texture of this product is quite light and even mousse-like. Once you start blending, it becomes obvious that this is a product full of silicones which has a very easily recognisable feel. Silicones is also one of the most often used ingredients for products looking to “smoothen”, “mattify” and “refine”. Some people have a problem with silicones as it also has a tendency to clog pores, but I believe that with a thorough cleansing routine, it really shouldn’t be a problem.

Back to the Dr. Brandt Pores No More Pore Refiner, it does what it sets out to do and works great as a mattifying primer. My skin is a smooth canvas ready for my foundation by the time I’m done spreading this out. With the slight tint, it corrects and evens out my skintone slightly, but not enough to wear alone or in place of foundation. It helps minimise the appearances of my pores and helps my foundation go on smoother. Oil control was also above average, lasting over 8 hours.Β Check out the ingredients list first before purchasing as some people might be wary of the silicones used, but this is definitely something for those plagued by oily skin to take a look at.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Then I must go check it out, I’m a sucker for stuff that reduces shine too, the amount on oil on my face a power a small nation.

    • This one is really good! But do try it out at Sephora first if you’re wary of silicones.. I know some people are..


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

