Kiko Soft Focus Compact

May 1, 2013 at 10:56 pm | Posted in Beauty | 2 Comments
Tags:

Can’t believe it’s almost a year since I did my swap with dear Maria! I’ve been very tardy in my review of her gift, the Kiko Soft Focus Compact Wet and Dry Mineral Foundation.

Kiko is an Italian brand that I’ve heard lots of raves about, and I can’t wait to check out the stores when I’m in Europe soon!

The compact has the same rubbery kind of feel as NARS packaging, but so far so good on stickiness factor.

Maria sent me shade 02, which looked just a little light for me in the pan.

There’s a sponge hidden in the bottom compartment for easy touch ups. The foundation can be used wet or dry, but I don’t have a habit of using mineral foundation wet, so it’s always been dry application for me.

Alas, swatching made it clear that 02 is a tad too light for my skintone, and I suspect 03 will be a better match. So, instead of using this as my foundation, Ive been using it as a powder on top of my liquid foundation or BB creams. This way, I get the coverage I need but topped off with the Kiko that gives me a brighter look.

The powder is fine and smooth to apply, which I usually do with a powder brush. The oil control is pretty good, even on my oily skin and the tropical humidity of Singapore. As a powder, this provides additional coverage when I’m using a sheerer liquid foundation or BB cream, giving me some flexibility to mix and match my base makeup routine.

Thanks again Maria for the wonderful swap! And I’m really looking forward to checking out Kiko when I’m in Italy!!

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. wow! so light on you!
    unfortunatelly i didn’t know your skintone that well….but still hope you will enjoy using it! i always have it with me :)

    • It works well as a powder on top of my foundation! I think 03 would match me more, so I’m going to check it out when I’m in Italy in a couple of weeks! Thanks for introducing me to Kiko!!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

